Wind Orchestras’ Concert Friday

Posted on November 16th, 2009 by

The Gustavus & Vasa Wind Orchestras

The Gustavus & Vasa Wind Orchestras

The Gustavus and Vasa Wind Orchestras fall concert in Christ Chapel on the campus of Gustavus Adolphus CollegeĀ  will be presented Friday, November 20, beginning at 7:30 p.m. Douglas Nimmo conducts this performance which is free and open to the public.

This annual performance brings the College’s two wind orchestras to Christ Chapel for a combined concert of compositions written or arranged for concert band. The Vasa Wind Orchestra opens the concert with Rick Kirby’s American Fanfare and Michael Sweeney’s Passages, followed by The Nutmeggers by Eric Osterling. Vasa concludes their half of the concert with Claude Smith’s Emperata Overture.

Following a short break to reset the stage, the Gustavus Wind Orchestra will open the second half with the five-movement Othello by Alfred Reed. Under the direction of Douglas Nimmo, the ensemble will continue with David Sampson’s Moving Parts, a Robert Smith arrangement of the hymn Precious Lord, and conclude with Kathryn Salfelder’s Cathedrals.

The two ensembles then join forces and conclude the evening’s concert with Alfred Reed’s Russian Christmas Music.

Friday’s fall concert by the Gustavus and Vasa Wind Orchestras is free and open to the public. It begins at 7:30 p.m. in Christ Chapel.


Comments are closed.