Gustavus Presents Autumn Winds Concert Saturday

Posted on November 17th, 2013 by

The Gustavus Wind Orchestra, Douglas Nimmo, conductor

The Gustavus Wind Orchestra, Douglas Nimmo, conductor

The Gustavus and Vasa Wind Orchestras, under the direction of Douglas Nimmo and Karrin Meffert-Nelson, will present their combine fall concert, Autumn Winds, in Jussi Björling Recital Hall on the campus of Gustavus Adolphus College, Saturday, November 23, beginning at 1:30 p.m. This annual event is free and open to the public.

The “Autumn Winds” performance brings the College’s two wind orchestras together for a combined concert of compositions written or arranged for concert band. The Vasa Wind Orchestra and Conductor Karrin Meffert-Nelson will open the concert with Bela Bartok’s Allegro Barbaro and the Sarabande and Polka from Malcolm Arnold’s ballet Solitaire. The Vasa’s program will continue with two contemporary work, Rest by Frank Ticheli and Festivo by Edward Gregson before concluding with Howard Hanson’s Chorale and Alleluia.

Following a short break to reset the stage, the Gustavus Wind Orchestra will open the second half with Ron Nelson’s Morning Alleluias for the Winter Solstice, the Symphonic Movement by Vaclav Nelhybel and Glenn Cliffe Bainum’s arrangement of Percy Grainger’s Spoon River. The ensemble will continue with Malcolm Arnold’s Four Cornish Dances and Ronald Lo Presti’s Elegy for a Young American, in remembrance of the 50th anniversary of the death of President John F. Kennedy. The Gustavus Wind Orchestra and Dr. Nimmo will conclude the Autumn Winds concert with another Bainum arrangement, The Colossus of Columbia, written in 1901 by Russell Alexander.

The Gustavus Autumn Winds concert is scheduled for Saturday, November 23 and will begin at 1:30 p.m. in Jussi Björling Recital Hall. The performance is free and open to the public.


One Comment

  1. Dale Jentink says:

    Hello GWO,
    We are looking forward to the Autumn Winds concert this Saturday. Sounds like a great line up. Can’t wait to hear the wonderful music you make.
    Dale and Tess Jentink