Oshima-Ryan Piano Recital Saturday

Posted on September 20th, 2011 by

Pianist Yumiko Oshima-Ryan

Pianist Yumiko Oshima-Ryan

The Department of Music at Gustavus Adolphus College is pleased to present pianist Yumiko Oshima-Ryan in a solo faculty recital on Saturday, September 24. Oshima-Ryan’s recital begins at 1:30 p.m. in Jussi Björling Recital Hall. The performance is free and open to the public.

At Saturday’s recital, Oshima-Ryan will open with Beethoven’s Piano Sonata Op. 81a, followed by Images Book 1 by Claude Debussy and Fantasy in F minor by Frederic Chopin. After intermission, she will return to the stage to present the seven-movement Ainola Lyrical Ballads, Op. 95 for piano by Takashi Yoshimatsu. This work for left hand demonstrates the influence of progressive rock, jazz, classical music, folk, and world music on Yoshimatsu’s compositions.

Yumiko Oshima-Ryan is an associate professor of music in her 8th year on the faculty at Gustavus. She is an active recitalist and teaches piano performance, piano pedagogy and keyboard skills. Originally from Tokyo, Japan, Oshima-Ryan has performed in Tokyo (Sumida Triphony Hall), Kyoto (Kyoto International Conference Hall), Toronto, San Juan, Boston (New England Conservatory), and has presented world premieres of new works by Japanese composers. Her compact disc, From Afar, features solo piano works by contemporary Japanese composers. She has received a number of awards including first prize at the Wurlitzer Collegiate Artist Competition and second prize at the International Beethoven Piano Sonata Competition. After graduating Toho Academy in Tokyo, she earned a Doctor of Musical Arts degree at the College Conservatory of Music, University of Cincinnati.

This faculty piano recital by Yumiko Oshima-Ryan begins at 1:30 p.m. on Saturday, September 24 in Jussi Björling Recital Hall. The performance is sponsored by the Department of Music and is free and open to the public.



Comments are closed.