Jazz Lab Band Honored at UW-Eau Claire Jazz Festival

Posted on April 27th, 2015 by

The Gustavus Jazz Lab Band, Dave Stamps, director

The Gustavus Jazz Lab Band, Dave Stamps, director

The Gustavus Jazz Lab Band, led by director Dave Stamps, won first place in the Collegiate Big Band Division at the 2015 University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Jazz Festival, which was held April 17-18. This is the third time that the ensemble has taken first place at the festival, and the first time under the leadership of Stamps.

As a result of taking first place in their category, the Gustavus Jazz Lab Band was invited to perform at the State Theatre in Eau Claire on April 17 during the festival concert in front of an audience of 1,100.

Four individuals in the ensemble were also recognized with Outstanding Performance Certificates including Hannah Walters (voice), Daniel Felton (alto saxophone), Ryan Masso (trumpet), and Bryan Voigt (drums).

Since 1967, the Eau Claire Jazz Festival has maintained a standard of excellence in jazz education and performance. This educational and cultural jazz festival has earned its distinction as one of the oldest and largest events of its kind by providing local, national, and international artists the opportunity to showcase their creative work and by highlighting the enduring elements and important directions in this distinctly American music.

Since 1970, the Gustavus Jazz Lab Band has built its reputation of performance excellence based on a varied repertoire from traditional big band standards to modern compositions. As its reputation has grown, the ensemble has received well-deserved attention for musical excellence. In addition to being invited to the UW-Eau Claire Jazz Festival, the group has performed at the prestigious Notre Dame Collegiate Jazz Festival and has performed live on Garrison Keillor’s A Prairie Home Companion. The group recently performed its annual Home Concert on April 19 when it performed works by Duke Ellington, Don Gibson, Quincy Jones, Sammy Nestico, Michel LeGrand, and others.


Media Contact: Director of Media Relations and Internal Communication Matt Thomas


Comments are closed.